Sylvia Smith

Kea Professor
Kea Distinguished Professor
Fall 2014
Senior Partner

Architect Sylvia Smith, named a Principal in 1996, and a Senior Partner in 2008, formed and leads FXFOWLE's Cultural/Educational Studio, which has won numerous awards for design excellence. Since joining the firm in 1982, she has been responsible for program intensive projects of varying scope and size.


From private schools and universities to large and small cultural institutions, she is constantly cultivating new ways to make architecture more expressive, enriching, and sustainable. Sylvia sits on the Board of Trustees and Executive Committee of Dickinson College, the Board of Directors for the Design Trust for Public Space and the Board of Directors of Storefront for Art and Architecture. She is a member of the Advisory Board of the Beverly Willis Architecture Foundation and the Yestermorrow School, and former Chair of the Fellows Committee for the AIA New York Chapter and the Dean's Advisory Board of the University of Virginia School of Architecture.


Sylvia earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in studio art and art history from Dickinson College, where she was named a Metzger Fellow. She received her Master of Architecture from the University of Virginia School of Architecture in 1978 and is LEED Accredited by the U.S. Green Building Council. In 2008, Sylvia was elevated to the College of Fellows of the American Institute of Architects, the organization's highest honor bestowed on an architect.


Sylvia Smith will serve as the Fall 2014 Kea Distinguished Professor in the Architecture program.


This visiting professorship, funded by Paul H. and Grace Kea, has played an important part in the life of the School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation by recognizing eminent practitioners and scholars. Kea Professors serve as critics and lecturers in the Architecture Program. They bring unique perspectives from practice and/or academia that enhance the academic experiences of students and faculty colleagues.